Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes

wpid-20140903_190753.jpg

When I was younger my dad was always trying to inspire a love for the culinary arts in both my brother and I. Whether or not I understood quite what he was attempting is still up for debate. What I do know for sure is that any time I got to use the potato masher; I was on board to help prep dinner. Some of my favorite dinner making memories involve me attempting to mash potatoes and subsequently covering the kitchen cabinets in lovely milk, butter and potato mixture… oops! I like to think I’ve grown up a tad bit since then, but some days I still find myself cleaning random large splatters from the counters and cabinets.

I decided to make a grownup version of my favorite childhood potato dish- twice baked fillings meet sweet potato. Yes, salty, savory, and sweet plus potato. Thank me now or thank me later.

wpid-20140903_1840460.jpg

ingredients:
4 large sweet potatoes
8 slices bacon
4 oz cream cheese, softened
4 tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese, divided
8 green onions, sliced, divided

wpid-20140903_190249.jpg

directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Bake potatoes in preheated oven for 1 hour.

Meanwhile, place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Drain, crumble and set aside.

When potatoes are done allow them to cool for 10 minutes. Slice potatoes in half lengthwise and scoop the flesh into a large bowl; saving the skins.

To the potato flesh add cream cheese, butter, salt, pepper, bacon, 1/2 cup cheese and 1/2 the green onions. Mash until well blended and creamy. Spoon the mixture into the potato skins. Top each with remaining cheese and green onions.

Bake for another 15 minutes.

Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes

Leave a comment